Perspective

It was a year ago yesterday that my blog had its most views – 82 in one day, which still seems like an enormous number to me. I had only posted a few things and my ego was immediately gratified. I felt as if I was well on my way to becoming a new kind of leader, a 21st century, Fast Company-Twitter-feed kind, who used social media to expand his influence and gain huge advantages at work. It was all a snare, a fiction I couldn’t live up to, and it hurt me deeply in the actual performance of my job.

This year feels different because writing, which has felt like a chore in the past, is laying a fresh foundation for something awaiting me in the future, as opposed to being an indicator that I’ve achieved something in the present. What the enemy intended for evil, God is using for good in my life and in the lives of others, through the redemption of my motives and the realignment of my desires.

If you reject discipline, you only harm yourself;
but if you listen to correction, you grow in understanding.
Fear of The Lord teaches wisdom;
humility precedes honor. (Proverbs 15:32-33 NLT)

Leave a Reply

