Seeking Freedom

The Bible promises that, if the Son sets you free, you are free indeed (John 8:36). Even as (especially as?) a Christ-follower, I have found it challenging to live life like that’s true. The things which have held me bound are myself & my self-imposed limitations.

If God truly has me in my job for a reason, He is going to empower me to do the work. Freedom in that context starts with me getting out of His way, allowing Him to work on changing those aspects of myself that prevent me from realizing my potential. It’s a bit of a paradox – surrender to God to be free – but what I want is not unlimited freedom to do whatever I want, but rather freedom from the baggage that I carry from past failures which have stunted my growth as a leader. We can’t read enough books or attend enough seminars to do that for ourselves. And God has done amazing things in my life over the past two months as I have bent my knee to Him and tasted what true freedom is like.

Leave a Reply

