Leadership Devotional 2011, Day 1

Work hard and become a leader; be lazy and become a slave. (Proverbs 12:24 NLT)

Many people, whether they are Christian or not, believe that the Bible has nothing to say about contemporary life, that it’s all simply rules & stories from a bygone era that are irrelevant in our sophisticated, post-modern era. Nothing could be further from the truth. The truths contained in the Bible are as vital today as when they were recorded, and there’s so much we can learn for our everyday lives…if we’re willing to dive into it.

One morning last year I woke up with this thought in mind: compile some verses & reflections from Scripture about leadership and work for a meeting I was attending out of town. I assume it was divine inspiration because it wasn’t anything I was consciously planning. The meeting was four days long, and my hope was to lead a voluntary time of reflection each morning. That didn’t work out, and it occurred to me during a walk last night to share that material here. I’m going to break the content up over more days than four. My prayer is that you’ll find a takeaway for each day, and perhaps be inspired to do your own study of the Bible on these themes. I would love to hear where your own reflections take you.

One thought on “Leadership Devotional 2011, Day 1

Leave a Reply

