Blog as Metaphor

I haven’t blogged in days for 2 reasons:

1) I can’t think of anything to write about
2) I haven’t been making time for thinking

Inspiration may come naturally to some, but I don’t think I fall into that category. I’m at my creative best when I’m deliberate about making time for pursuing the creative. And this is true at work too. If my schedule is being set by the Now, and my task list is dominated by the Immediate, it’s no wonder other activities get squeezed. And when I get home from a workday like that, reflecting on work is the last thing I want to do.

So I need to commit to blogging regularly, and I need to stare down the Immediate and make time to sit quietly and imagine what’s possible. It all comes down to priorities. Waiting for flashes of divine inspiration (which do happen) feels lazy and ignores my own responsibility to myself.

Leave a Reply

