Context matters

At the top of my strategic plan for 2012 I recently added “pray without ceasing,” which is the 17th verse of the 5th chapter of Paul’s 1st letter to the Thessalonians. Sounds like a good plan for a Christian, right?

But it’s often said that we shouldn’t lift a Bible verse from its greater context, and in this case I’ve been neglecting something equally necessary right before it: “Rejoice always.” I guess when plans go haywire & things feel out of control it’s very natural to focus on one at the expense of the other. But even in the midst of struggles and adversity there’s so much for which I should be thankful. And so in 2012 my goal is to do both equally, especially where my role as a leader is concerned.

“Rejoice always; pray without ceasing; in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 NASB)

Leave a Reply

