My Biggest Fear as a Leader

People are afraid to admit mistakes, usually out of embarrassment, fear or pride. Last week I had a long conversation with someone who made some mistakes and had all kinds of justifications & rationalizations for their actions. This person took no ownership and insisted the fault lay in our mistakes and misinterpretations.

Fear of failure is, I think, in our DNA.Thanks to reality shows & the Internet, not only do we constantly see people fail in new & spectacular ways, we see the devastating and/or hilarious consequences of failure in real time. Who wants a part of that? The truth is I have to want a part of that in order to take the next step as a leader and push through my fears. And I have to be willing to model that for my team.

In his second letter to Timothy, Paul tells his beloved protégée that “…God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.” (2 Timothy 1:7 NLT) Paul is offering this truth within the context of the sharing of the Gospel, but I think it’s evident throughout the Bible that God desires for us to live boldly in all that we do, not by our strength but by His. But I can’t pretend that’s how I always approach life. Right now there’s a leaky pipe under the sink I need to fix, but I’m more afraid of making it worse than confident I can fix it, even though deep down I know I can fix it. Sounds silly, but it can be hard to break out of that mindset.

Do you have any good examples of overcoming fear and what you learned from it?

One thought on “My Biggest Fear as a Leader

  1. I have lived in fear for years. Fear of the unknown, fear of failure and fear of hurting someone I care about. That fear just came true and you know what? That fear was a lie; it was just an excuse to not conduct myself and live how I wanted. We all make choices everyday and those choices have consequences. I have learned if we make a choice that we know may not be approved by others but we still truly believe in it, then in fact, it is the right choice no matter the outcome. If the outcome is unfavorable at the time we must learn that it is necessary to achieve our true calling, desire or destination. Living in fear is like holding your breath; it freezes the situation so you do not have to deal with it. The fact is it suffocates you, creating false security. No one is ever secure until they are true and when you are true you are free and when you are free you have no fear. This is a true leader and that leader must be humble enough to recognize when others are doing the same. Life is a journey not a destination- Aerosmith ( you quote the bible, I quote rock n roll, balances itself out,
    yes?)

Leave a Reply

